I possess a natural empathy and a desire to help people; whether that is to help ease the pain of chronic tension, to soothe the muscles following over-exertion or simply to relax and take away anxiety. I treat people holistically and as individuals

Amy Phillips - 07800 636266

Dekker Road, Dulwich Village. London. SE21 7DJ


Monday, January 21, 2013 Wellbeing

The Chakra System

‘Health is a large word. It embraces not the body only, but the mind and spirit as well... and not today's pain or pleasure alone, but the whole being and outlook of a man.’ James H West.

The chakras, in some Hinduist, Buddhist and other traditions are centres of Prāṇa, life force, or vital energy. Chakras correspond to vital points in the physical body i.e. major plexuses of arteries, veins and nerves. The seven major chakras in the chakra system (there are many minor chakras) look like spinning wheels of light, funnels, or whirlpools of energy that make our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual life possible.
 In essence our chakras receive the health of our environment, including the people we are in contact with (that’s why other people’s moods have an affect on us!). Also, our chakras radiate an energy, which others can either consciously or unconsciously pick up on.
1. ROOT CHAKRA- (associated color: red; related parts of the body: adrenal glands, kidneys, spinal column, leg bones)
Balanced root chakras result in a healthy desire for the basics of life (food, warmth, shelter, etc.) You feel grounded and secure and have lots of energy fro physical activity.
When this chakra is imbalanced, we may be afraid of life, withdraw from physical reality, feel victimized, or selfish. Dysfunction of this chakra also can lead to problems of the feet, legs and lower back.
2. SACRAL CHAKRA- (associated color: orange; related parts of the body: gonads, prostrate gland, reproductive system, spleen, bladder)
When properly functioning, this chakra fuels our emotions, creativity and sexuality. We feel vital and spontaneous, ready to seize the moment. This chakra is also about friendliness, openness and intuition
Imbalance of this chakra can result in over-indulgence in sex or food, sexual or reproductive disorders, and feelings of jealousy and confusion. kidney weakness, stiff lower back, constipation, and muscle spasms are other physical symptoms of Sacral chakra disorder.
3. SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA- (associated color: yellow; related parts of the body: pancreas, liver, digestive tract, stomach, spleen, gall bladder, autonomic nervous system)
Strongly associated with intellect, the solar plexus chakra is also the seat of our personal power. When this chakra is open and balanced, its energy helps us transform our hopes and aspirations (especially material ones) into reality. We feel self-confident and have a clear sense of purpose.
Dysfunction of this chakra can result in insecurity about physical and financial matters and the need to dominate others. Physical problems associated with its imbalance often include digestive disorders, liver problems, diabetes, nervous exhaustion, and food allergies.
4. HEART CHAKRA- (associated color: green (secondary color: pink); related parts of the body: thymus gland, heart, lower lungs, circulatory system, skin, hands)
Acting as the bridge between the physical and spiritual worlds, the heart chakra is the center of love and emotional well-being. When this chakra is functioning optimally, our ability to give and receive unconditional love is well developed. We are compassionate. You will be friendly, empathetic, have a desire to nurture others and see the good in everyone.
Dysfunction of this chakra often results in feelings of sadness, fear and anger and can lead to heart problems. You may feel sorry for yourself, paranoid, indecisive, afraid of letting go, afraid of getting hurt, or unworthy of love. Physically, blockages can affect the shoulders, and upper back.
5. THROAT CHAKRA- (associated color: sky blue; related parts of the body: thyroid gland, throat and jaw areas, lungs, vocal cords, digestive tract)
The throat chakra governs communication and mental creativity. When this chakra is at its best, we speak and listen in the spirit of truth and constructively express anger and other emotions. When this chakra is blocked communication can suffer. We may overindulge in eating and drinking to keep a non-communicative throat busy and suffer from respiratory diseases, dental problems, and low self-esteem. Feelings of anger, hostility and resentment also are associated with the imbalance of this chakra.
6. THIRD-EYE CHAKRA- (associated color: indigo; related parts of the body: pituitary gland, lower brain, left eye, ears, nose, central nervous system)
An open third-eye chakra is the source of our intuition and clairvoyance (vision beyond ordinary sight) as well as our ability to visualize. It also assists in the purification of negative tendencies and in the elimination of selfish attitudes.
Blockages of this chakra can result in fear of the imagination, dreams and our intuitive insights. Physical symptoms of third-eye imbalance may include persistent headaches (especially in the center of the forehead), insomnia, anxiety and depression.
7 CROWN CHAKRA (associated color: violet (also white); related parts of the body: pineal gland, upper brain, right eye)
The crown chakra is our direct connection to spirit. When it is highly developed, we fully understand the "oneness" of universal existence and experience true inner peace. The illusion of separation between ourselves and other beings dissolves. Expansion of the crown chakra enables us to tap into the highest sources of spiritual wisdom.
Blockages can result in feeling lonely, fearing death, and needing to compare ourselves (often unfavorably) to others. We may have a constant sense of frustration, no joy, and destructive feelings. Illnesses may include migraine headaches and depression.
Excellent ways to rebalance your chakra’s are through Kundalini Yoga and Reiki healing.
comments powered by Disqus